The Musée Unterlinden’s original location in the 13th century convent is now linked to the former municipal baths building inaugurated in 1906. The architects Herzog & de Meuron connected the two buildings and added a contemporary extension. An underground gallery con-sisting of three exhibition rooms passes underneath the Place Unterlinden and the canal.
It leads to the new building, the Ackerhof, which is named after the convent’s former farm building. More than ever before, the Musée Unterlinden has room to display its encyclopaedic collections. Visitors can also enjoy spaces including the cloister garden, the museum orchard, the Café, the shop…