Polychrome-painted armoires

Furniture with polychrome painted decoration remains one of the distinctive features of Alsatian production, even though the tradition seems to have come from Central Europe and items of this type are equally common in Italy. This armoire, with its sinuous “gendarme’s hat” cornice, is dated 1819, which was probably the year of its owners’ wedding. Their names are written on either side: Siegmund Ropp and Catharine Danhart.

Pieces like this, which were traditionally made for weddings, provided the basic furniture for the home. The wood is covered in reddish-brown paint to imitate dark wood veneers, whilst the decoration of the doors combines floral and geometric motifs: the upper and lower panels are painted with bouquets of flowers, whilst the central panels contain a red St Andrew’s cross against a backdrop of latticework.

This polychrome-painted armoire took inspiration from the models provided by sophisticated cabinet-making, and the Louis XV style in particular, as can be seen in the sinuous cornice, providing an illustration of the influence of these forms on the popular arts.

Retour à votre sélection

Armoire polychrome

Dans le domaine de l’ameublement, le mobilier polychrome demeure une des spécificités alsaciennes même s’il semble que cette tradition vienne d’Europe centrale et que ce type de production soit aussi fréquent en Italie. Cette armoire dont la corniche dite « en chapeau de gendarme » arbore une ligne sinueuse porte la date de 1819, année probable de l’union des propriétaires dont les noms sont indiqués de part et d’autre : Siegmund Ropp et Catharine Danhart.

Ce genre de mobilier, traditionnellement réalisé à l’occasion d’un mariage, constituait l’ameublement de base du foyer. Le bois est recouvert d’une peinture brun-rouge afin d’imiter le placage de bois sombres alors que les ornements des portes combinent des motifs floraux et géométriques : les panneaux hauts et bas sont peints de bouquets de fleurs alors que, sur celui du centre, est tracé en rouge une croix de saint André cantonnée de croisillons.

Cette armoire polychrome s’inspire des modèles de l’ébénisterie savante et notamment du style Louis XV sensible dans la sinuosité de la corniche. Elle témoigne de l’influence de ces formes dans l’art populaire.

Retour à votre sélection